Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)


The ADA, Passed in 1990, is a comprehensive federal civil rights law that prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability. The ADA defines a disability as:

A physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities (i.e. working, talking, hearing, seeing, caring for one's self)

Or having a record of such an impairment;

Or being regarded by others as having an impairment such as individuals with severe facial scarring.

There are five Titles within the ADA that cover:

For more information contact the National ADA Network at 800-949-4232.


Last Updated on:
Mon Jun 25, 2018